Events

Our Events – Get Involved

Our Roving Restorer, volunteer bush regeneration group meets fortnightly on a Friday morning.  Typically, we meet at the Maleny IGA carpark and carpool to a different property each fortnight.

We carry out on-ground works (may be either : Weeding or: Tree Planting) from 9am-11:30am and finish with a lovely catered morning tea at the property we are visiting.  It is important to register to find out the meeting time as it does vary each fortnight depending on the location we are going to.

No experience in bush regeneration is required, just a love of the outdoors and nature.  We visit beautiful properties. You will get to learn new skills and meet lovely like-minded people.  The morning teas are awesome too!

We would love to see you along at one of our events.  To register or find out more information email: info@hinterlanbushlinks.org

The scheduled events for 2023 are as follows:

Friday 10 February: Weeding

Friday 24 February: Weeding

Friday 10 March: Weeding

Friday 24 March: Tree Planting

Friday 14 April: Weeding

Friday 21 April: Tree Planting

Friday 12 May: Weeding

Friday 26 May: Weeding

Friday 16 June: Weeding

Friday 23 June: Tree Planting

Friday 14 July: Weeding

Friday 28 July: Tree Planting

Friday 11 August: Weeding

Friday 25 August: Weeding

Friday 8 September: Weeding

Friday 22 September: Tree Planting

Friday 13 October: Weeding

Friday 27 October: Tree Planting

Friday 10 November: Weeding

Friday 24 November: Weeding

Friday 8 December: Weeding

Join us for Sunday morning family koala habitat tree planting events from 9am – 12pm. 

Registration is required.

Dates:

Sunday 21 May
Sunday 11 June
Sunday 20 August

Koala Education and Awareness Presentation

Date: Saturday 18 March 2023

Time: 10-11:30am

Location: Maleny Sport and Recreation Hall

Presenter: Vanda Grabowski from Koala Action Inc.

Cost: $15

Registration is required

The koala, Queensland’s faunal emblem is on the brink of extinction in many parts of Southeast Queensland.  Each and every one of us can make a difference and ensure the survival of the koala all over its natural range.  The perils they face are many and varied.  On behalf of Koala Action Inc. (KAI) Vanda will lead a koala education and awareness presentation.

This is a fundraising event and all funds raised will go back into the habitat restoration work of Hinterland Bush Links.

Exploring Scribbly Gum Forest – Educational Walking Tour

Date: Saturday 12 August 2023

Time: Meet at Maleny IGA at 9am for a 10am start, arriving back at Maleny at 2:30pm-ish

Location: Gheerulla Lookout, Mapleton.

Cost: $50 p.p

Registration is required

Led by our founder and highly experience ecologist, Susie Duncan.

This walk is through beautiful Scribbly Gum and Forest She-oak country with an understorey of shrubs including banksias, grass trees and many native flowering peas. Glossy Black-cockatoos have been seen feeding on the She-oaks in this area. The lookout provides a magnificent view south-east into the forested Gheerulla Creek catchment, and across to Kenilworth Bluff and north along the Mary Valley. The total length of the walk is about 3.3km and requires moderate fitness.

This is not a long walk but experiential.  We take our time to get to know the forest along the way.

Places are limited to 15 people so don’t miss out.

This is a fundraising walk and all funds raised will go back into the habitat restoration work of Hinterland Bush Links.

Invasive Plants and Animals Information Session

Date: Saturday 2 September 2023

Time: TBA

Location: Obi Obi Hall, 856 Obi Obi Rd, Obi Obi QLD 4574

Hosted by Sunshine Coast Council.

Hinterland Bush Links will be presenting along with a few other presenters.  Our presentation will focus on the Upper Mary Valley Weed Vine Project in which we eradicate cats claw creeper and madeira vine.

Research Into Roadkill – Presentation

Saturday: 7 October 2023

Location: Maleny Sport and Recreation Hall

Presenter: Christopher Johnson

Exploring Tallowwood Forest and Rainforest – Educational Walking Tour

Date: Sunday 19 November 2023

Time: Meet at Maleny IGA at 8am for a 9am start, arriving back at Maleny at 2:30pm-ish

Location: Baxter Creek Falls, Flaxton

Cost: $50 p.p

Registration is required

Led by our founder and highly experience ecologist, Susie Duncan

This walk is through Tallowwood and Grey Gum forest, dropping steeply down to rainforest and a beautiful swimming hole on Baxter Creek. The two forest types and the creek system, support a diverse array of flora and fauna.

The total length of the walk is about 6km and requires quite good fitness.

This is not long walk but experiential.  We take our time to get to know the forest along the way.

Places are limited to 15 people so don’t miss out.

This is a fundraising walk and all funds raised will go back into the habitat restoration work of Hinterland Bush Links.

Get Involved

As a community, we can achieve amazing things. Discover all the ways you can get involved with us today!
Education for Landholders